Cypress Creek Basin
Clean Rivers Program

Steering Committee Minutes
November 17, 2005
Executive Office of Northeast Texas Municipal Water District
Hughes Springs, Texas


  The meeting began at 2:00 p.m. The following persons were present:  
Ric Blevins Tommy Spruill
Walt Sears, Jr. Anthony Raser
Nancy Stirl Jennifer Meyer
Max Berry Dwight Slaback
David Brown Paul Price
Ned Muse Leah Cooper
Ben House Earlene Lambeth
Marvin Brautigan
Art Crowe
Arthur Talley


Guests and committee representatives were recognized and welcomed to the meeting by Walt Sears, Jr.

By consensus, the minutes of the September 29, 2005 meeting were approved as presented.

Art Crowe gave a power point presentation concerning monitoring in the Cypress Creek Basin. Mr. Crowe reported that they now have ten years of data from sampling in the basin’s eighteen sampling stations and 100 data points. He advised that the data indicates that there are seasonal fluctuations of dissolved oxygen in the Cypress Creek Basin. Mr. Crowe reported that a model had been developed with the data. Mr. Crowe requested that stakeholders review this information and consider writing a letter to the water quality team in Austin regarding this data. It was agreed that the information developed by Art should be made available on the website. It was acknowledged that this data is useful when assessing what the dissolved oxygen standard should be for streams in the Cypress Creek Basin.

Arthur Talley of TCEQ gave an update on the Total Maximum Daily Load Program (TMDL) for Lake O’ the Pines.

The stakeholders discussed the pending TMDL and its future implementation. Those present were advised of the TMDL meeting to be held at this location at 7:00 p.m. on this date and were encouraged to attend this meeting.

It was agreed that the next meeting will likely be held during the month of March 2006.

There was no additional public comments or input.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:55 p.m.